Interview

Interview

10 Years Academy for the Protection of Zoo Animals and Wildlife

After many years working as colleagues in Munich’s Hellabrunn Zoo, animal, nature and species conservation was truly a topic dear to the hearts of Dr. Julia Gräfin Maltzan and Prof. Dr. Henning Wiesner. Ten years ago, the zoo and wild animal veterinarians founded the nonprofit Academy for the Protection of Zoo Animals and Wildlife, which dedicates itself to international as well as domestic species and animal protection projects. Both Academy founders discuss the inspiration behind the creation of the organization and how it has changed over the years. The commemoration report with a visionary cover illustration by Günter Mattei can also be downloaded here.

© Foto: Udo Zimmermann
Worldwide

Worldwide

Wearables for Wildlife: Advanced tracking technology

ICARUS: One of the most spectacular projects in animal welfare and natureand species conservation. The Max Planck Society, under the direction of Prof. Dr. Martin Wikelski, is equipping animals with miniature transmitters. The goal is to study the movement of animals in order to better protect them. The transmitter receiving antenna is located on the International Space Station ISS. The Academy sponsors this project.

© Foto: MPI

Contact

Academy for the Protection of
Zoo Animals and Wildlife e.V.

Osserstr. 44 ▪ 81679 Munich
Germany

Fon + 49 89 99 88 68 50
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About us

The academy supports animal welfare, nature and species conservation projects worldwide. We are a non-profit organisation relying solely on tax deductible donations. Our aim is to help endangered species and animals in distress which are otherwise without financial support.

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.

Interview

Interview

10 Jahre Akademie für Zoo- und Wildtierschutz

Sie haben viele Jahre im Münchner Tierpark Hellabrunn zusammengearbeitet und dabei immer den Tier-, Natur- und Artenschutz als ganz besondere Herzensangelegenheit betrachtet: Dr. Julia Gräfin Maltzan und Prof. Dr. Henning Wiesner. Vor zehn Jahren gründeten die beiden Zoo- und Wildtierärzte ihre Akademie für Zoo- und Wildtierschutz – ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der sich international wie national Arten- und Tierschutzprojekten widmet. Was sie damals dazu bewogen hat und was sich im Laufe der Jahre verändert hat, erzählen die beiden Akademie-Gründer im Gespräch. Den Jubiläumsbericht mit einer visionären Titelillustration von Günter Mattei finden Sie hier auch als Download.

© Foto: Udo Zimmermann
Weltweit

Weltweit

Fitness-Armbänder für Wildtiere: Hightech für den Artenschutz

Es ist eines der aufsehenerregendsten Projekte im Tier-, Natur- und Artenschutz: „Icarus“. Die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Martin Wikelski versieht dabei Tiere mit Minisendern. Ziel ist es, auf diese Weise die Wanderwege der Tiere zu erforschen, um sie besser schützen zu können. Die Empfangsantenne dieser Sender befindet sich auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS.

© Foto: MPI

Kontakt

Akademie für Zoo- und Wildtierschutz e.V.
Osserstr. 44
81679 München - Germany
Telefon 089 99 88 68 50
Email Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

Über uns

Die Akademie unterstützt als gemeinnütziger Verein Tier-, Natur- und Artenschutzprojekte weltweit und generiert sich aus Spenden, die steuerlich absetzbar sind. Wir wollen dadurch auch bedrohten und in Not geratenen Tieren helfen, die finanziell nicht abgesichert sind.

Wir benutzen Cookies

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell für den Betrieb der Seite, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und die Nutzererfahrung zu verbessern (Tracking Cookies). Sie können selbst entscheiden, ob Sie die Cookies zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei einer Ablehnung womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen.